Hello world!

Standard

Welcome to Confessions of Day Care Teachers!

This is B. I teach 1 1/2 year olds at a private preschool in Middle Tennessee.  I have been at this school for a year and I taught 1 1/2  and 2 year olds at another school in the area for 5 years. So needless to say, I have changed A LOT of diapers! My favorite brand of diapers with the best fit verses absorbancy is Pampers Cruisers, hands down. They fit a sorts of shapes of toddlers very well and I have experienced the least amount of leaks with these diapers. But no matter what diaper you choose, the right size is the key. If the diaper is too big, then it will gap at the legs and then your baby will end up sleeping in a puddle. If the diaper is too small, then the moisture cannot be pulled away from the baby’s sensitive skin far enough and that is when bad rashes occur. The weight ranges on the package is just a guide. Take in to consideration the shape of your child. For example; a child that is in the weight range for a size 3 diaper, but is tall and skinny, the child may actually need the length that a size 4 offers better.  If the front of the diaper does not come up close to the belly button without have to pull the diaper tight between the legs, then it’s time to go up a size. If you can fold the top of the diaper down more than a few inches and still have the diaper come up close to the belly button, then you need to go down a size.

Huggies wipes are my favorite. They are perforated between each wipe so that the next wipe comes through the slot every time. They are also thick enough for tough messes and not overly wet.

My favorite diaper cream is Boudreaux’s Butt Paste. It has a pleasant scent (as is advertises), going on smoothly and evenly, it is very gentle and better yet, it works! And quickly, too! Ok, I know I sound like a commercial, but I assure you I am not getting paid by any of these products. I have tried just about every type of diaper, wipe and cream on the market just from my occupation and am just stating my preference.

That’s it for today! Have a great Thursday!

*~* B *~*

2 responses »

  1. I actually prefer Kirkland wipes. They are the Costco brand of wipes. They are larger in size and therefore clean much better than any wipes I have used for any child. Because they are an off brand, I don’t suppose they cost much. Which is a huge advantage as we use so much in the classroom.

    As for diapers, the new trend these days seems to be with cloth diapers. While not ideal in a preschool setting, I tend to like them better. They are so much easier to use once you are use to them.

  2. I do like the Kirkland wipes as for the individual wipe, but I don’t like that the next wipe doesn’t always follow and the packaging annoys me.

    I have used cloth diapers with one child and they were pretty nice. But according to DHS, they are not supposed to be used in a day care center. I actually liked them better than disposables.

Leave a Reply

